Reviews



Gorgeous in Grange - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed a wonderful stay here from the moment Lyn welcomed us at the door to the time we left three days later. The room was comfortable and warm, the bed fantastic for the best night’s sleep, and the breakfast a scrumptious delight!

Response

Thanks for the great review David, you and Else are great company.As newcomers to Grange it was lovely talking to you and Andy about your childhood memories of this lovely town and surroundingsHope to see you and Else again when you visit the areaWarm wishesLyn & Liam

Reviewer:David W | Wed 12th Jun 2019 | 1 week ago


Fantastic place not to miss out! - Rating 5/5

I spent two nights it was like a dream place wonderful home made breakfast, spotless super clean room and bathroom i have hardly seen, people with warm heart and i felt i was welcomed as part of their family. Thanks for everything Lynn and her husband for your warm welcome and very professional service so highly recommended!

Response

Thanks for the lovely comments Naoko, it was a pleasure to meet you on your short trip from France to the Conference at the Grange Hotel, which is just over the road.I hope your journey home was good and your little girl enjoyed the lovely sparkly bag you bought her as a souvenir of your time here.Look forward to seeing you and your family on your next trip to the UKAll the bestLyn & Liam

Reviewer:Naoko H | Wed 12th Jun 2019 | 1 week ago


Good break - Rating 5/5

We had an enjoyable break in a very. Good b&b everything you could want

Response

Thanks for the review Robert, it was lovely meeting you and Veronica and hope we will see you again when you are coming to Allithwaite again.Best wishesLyn & Liam

Reviewer:robert d | Tue 4th Jun 2019 | 2 weeks ago


Superb B & B - Rating 5/5

Just back from two nights at the Elton and had a great stay, lovely room, great breakfast and ideal setting for the South Lakes. Lyn and Liam are brilliant hosts.

Response

Thank you for the review Neil. You and Jacky are such a lovely, lively couple, it was great meeting you both.Hope Jacky is pleased with her MX5, look forward to seeing it on your next trip this wayKind regardsLyn & Liam

Reviewer:Neil W | Fri 31st May 2019 | 2 weeks ago


Stop over race trip - Rating 5/5

Really really impressed by the service the reception and the accommodation.This is a real gem of a place where the proprietors really look after you and make you feel not only at home but almost one of the family, a most comfortabl,relaxing break I well recomend this place .

Response

Thank you Bruce for your kind comments. It was lovely to meet you and Simon, and hope we will see you both again will on your next trip to Cartmel and Grange.Best wishesLyn & Liam

Reviewer:Bruce P | Thu 30th May 2019 | 2 weeks ago


Amazing place, with equally amazing hospitality - Rating 5/5

My wife and her aunt stayed here for a weekend in May to celebrate a milestone birthday. The hosts attention to detail was amazing throughout, and she couldn't recommend this highly enough. They had a lovely time, both because of the place itself and the hospitality.

Response

Thank you Ryan for the great commentsMichelle and Val were just delightful. I felt like we were three sisters having a great time. Can’t wait to see them again on their next celebration.All the bestLyn & LiamXx

Reviewer:Ryan F | Tue 28th May 2019 | 3 weeks ago


Lovely Guest House - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely room overlooking the back garden. The beds were very comfortable. Everything you needed for a stay was there. Tea &coffee making available and nice soft fluffy towels. The breakfast was brilliant and my eggs were poached to perfection. Well done Liam!! Lynn was a lovely hostess, friendly and chatty. Well appointed lounge to front of the house was available to all residents. Parking in carpark opposite. Overall a lovely stay in a lovely house with lovely hosts in a beautiful part of the country.

Response

Thank you Helen for the glowing review.It was a pleasure meeting you and Keith and talking to you about your horsesPlease do not hesitate to call in for a cuppa if you are visiting the area, or hopefully see you again if you are staying over for Cartmel races again.Kind regardsLyn & Liam

Reviewer:HELEN B | Mon 27th May 2019 | 3 weeks ago


Excellent as always - Rating 5/5

We stay regularly at the Elton Guest House as it is comfortable, hospitable, friendly and Lyn and Liam work hard to ensure we are thoroughly cared for. The accommodation is ample, spotlessly clean, and delightful. Thank you for such a wonderful visit, yet again. Anne and Bob

Response

Thanks Anne for your lovely comments. We really look forward to seeing you and Bob. Hope to see even more of you now you are retiring.Lyn & LiamXx

Reviewer:Bob & A | Tue 14th May 2019 | 1 month ago


Weekend visit to Grange over sands Elton guest house. - Rating 5/5

Beautiful accommodation,Great position to visit Grange over sands and hosts were very attentive and fun.Could not have asked for a better guest house...breakfast excellent.

Response

Thanks for the review Paul.It was great meeting you and Karen and look forward to seeing you both againLyn& Liam

Reviewer:Paul D | Tue 14th May 2019 | 1 month ago


Welcoming and comfortable- Rating 5/5

Excellent location, lovely breakfast, friendly and welcoming. Really clean and comfortable

Response

Thanks for the review Cliff. It was a pleasure meeting you both and hope we will see you again for a bit longer next timeLyn & Liam

Reviewer:cliff F | Tue 7th May 2019 | 1 month ago


5 star - Rating 5/5

GoodComfortableGood location

Reviewer:Kevin B | Sat 27th Apr 2019 | 1 month ago


Great little place - Rating 5/5

This place is a great find. Nice people running it everything was clean and tidy. Breakfast was good too. I am sure I will be back

Response

Great to meet you Julie, pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Look forward to seeing you again.Best wishesLyn

Reviewer:Julie B | Sun 31st Mar 2019 | 2 months ago


Great place to stay. - Rating 5/5

We were on a cycling holiday and needed somewhere to stay on our return journey.We found this gem of a guest house.Lynn and Liam made us very welcome and were on hand with a welcome cup of coffee and a delicious cake as soon as we arrived.Storing our bikes was no problem and local information was abundant.Our room was luxurious and very comfortable, with a very big bed to sleep in as an added bonus.Breakfast was freshly prepared and plentiful.We would recommend others to stay here if heading to Grange over Sands.

Response

Thanks Caroline for the great review.It was great meetingyou both and hope you didn’t get too battered by the winds on your bikes on the way home.Look forward to seeing you next year.Have a great Christmas and New YearAll the bestLyn & LiamX.

Reviewer:Caroline H | Fri 30th Nov 2018 | 6 months ago


d - Rating 5/5

Excellent service, Friendly and helpful and attentive staff.Would thoroughly recommend to others.Wide range of breakfast available. Room very clean.

Response

It was great meeting you Kath, you are a very interesting lady.Hope to see you again next time you are in the area, and keep up with the wood turning.All the bestLyn & Liam

Reviewer:Miss. Kathleen L | Mon 15th Oct 2018 | 8 months ago


Family stay- Rating 5/5

Lovely stay, rooms well decorated and comfy , lovely cup of tea coffee and muffin offered when we arrived . Breakfast was all options from cereal to full breakfast ,lovely and fresh . Lyn and Liam are great hosts . Would highly recommended and we would stay again in the area .

Response

Thanks for the lovey review Aileen. Glad you enjoyed your stay in the newly refurbished family room.Hope Gary enjoyed his latebirthday present and Walking with Wolves was a special experience for Laura as well.See you next yearLyn & Liam

Reviewer:Aileen B | Wed 10th Oct 2018 | 8 months ago


Review of Elton Guest House - Rating 5/5

Enjoyable 3 night stay. Friendly and helpful hosts. Easy access to the southern Lakes.

Response

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and nice we could share Catriona’s birthday celebrations.See you next timeAll the bestLyn & Liam

Reviewer:Peter B | Tue 9th Oct 2018 | 8 months ago


Little things - Rating 5/5

Lyn and Liam were great hosts, nothing was too much trouble, Lyn booked us a table for a meal and when there was a mix up with the day rebooked for us. The house is lovely, immaculately clean and the room was a very good size. The location is ideal with a latte car park opposite the house, Lyn and Liam pay for car parking passes for guests which is great. Altogether a fantastic stay thank you very much.

Response

Thank you Jim for the lovely comments.It was great to meet you and Brenda and look forward to seeing you again soonLyn & Liam

Reviewer:J c | Mon 17th Sep 2018 | 9 months ago


Delightful and comfortable B and B. Highly recommended- Rating 5/5

Our stay was so enjoyable, we wished we could have stayed longer than our 3 nights. Our room was beautifully renovated to a very high standard, the whole house was spotless and we had a lovely selection of fresh fruit and locally supplied food at breakfast.

Response

Thank you Sue. It was a pleasure meeting you and Les. Maybe you can stay a bit longer next time you are over from Australia.Thank you for the offer to come and stay with you, that would be fantastic.Hope you are enjoying the rest of your holiday in the UK.Keep in touchBest wishesLyn & LiamXx

Reviewer:Sue B | Thu 13th Sep 2018 | 9 months ago


Best guest house I\'ve stayed in - Rating 5/5

My stay at the Elton guest house was perfect! Before arrival, my group had to alter our rooms and this was no trouble at all. When we arrived we were greeted with a lovely welcome and complementary tea, coffee and cake. Nothing was too much trouble, even ironing our shirts before the wedding we were attending! Rooms were spotless, breakfast was delicious and the atmosphere was lovely. Lyn and Liam made us feel completely at home and I can highly recommend staying here.

Response

Thank you Abi for your lovely comments.It was a pleasure meeting you all, you are such a talented group, and a big hit at the wedding at the Grange Hotel I am sure.Don’t hesitate to call in if you are in the area for a tea/coffee and of course a cake.Good luck to you, James, Emily, Tom, and Ruth in everything you choose to do.All the bestLynXx

Reviewer:Abigail G | Tue 11th Sep 2018 | 9 months ago


Too short a stay - Rating 5/5

In a word - wonderful!Lyn and Liam are warm, genuine and welcoming hosts.The breakfast is abundant, healthy and delicious.The room is large and comfortable.The town and surrounding area are quaint, cozy and lovely.

Response

It was great meeting you both David, and really enjoyed our chats after breakfast. You are such a lovely, friendly couple of newly weds!!!Hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and hope to see you again on your next trip to the UK.Best regards from pixie with the blinking eyes.X

Reviewer:David P | Tue 4th Sep 2018 | 9 months ago


Fantastic place and hosts! - Rating 5/5

From arriving to departing Lynn and Liam were great hosts.......nothing too much trouble and the place was spotlessly clean with very nice rooms and facilities.......we will definitely be booking in again!

Response

Thank you for the review HowardLook forward to seeing you again. Just give us a callBest wishesLyn

Reviewer:Howard L | Sun 26th Aug 2018 | 9 months ago


Holiday - Rating 5/5

The Elton guest house is the best guest house my wife and I have ever stayed in . We enjoyed a lovely night in their fantastically refurbished rooms which were extremely clean. The breakfast was fabulous and the owners, Lynn and Liam were so welcoming and could not do enough for us. They advised us about were to eatAnd what to see in the area. We can not recommend this guest house highly enough and we will certainly be going back with our 2 boys in the future.

Response

Thanks Theo for the fabulous comments. The refurbishment has been hard work but it makes it all worthwhile when we get lovely comments like this.Look forward to seeing you and Alex again, and of course meeting your lovely boys. I am sure they will love being in the family room.See you soonRegardsLyn

Reviewer:theo l | Wed 22nd Aug 2018 | 10 months ago


Wedding stayover- Rating 5/5

Highly recommended if you’re staying in Grange, very central guest house with convenient parking across the road. Immaculately decorated and spotlessly clean accommodation, and very friendly host and hostess, Lyn and Liam. We were offered tea and muffins on arrival and made to feel very welcome. Very good breakfast the next morning, with a view to the lovely rear garden. You can’t go wrong with this one!

Response

Thanks for the review Anthea, it was great to meet you. Hope to see you again if you are in the area or attending another weddingBest wishesLyn

Reviewer:Mrs Anthea S | Mon 20th Aug 2018 | 10 months ago


Elton Guest House - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely room with a large and very comfortable bed. The location is good, close to the village. Good breakfast and Lyn and Liam are excellent and considerate hosts.

Response

Really pleased you and Kath enjoyed your stay with us. Look forward to seeing you both again, and not so much hiking next time.Regards to both of youLyn

Reviewer:david s | Sun 12th Aug 2018 | 10 months ago


Great guest house - Rating 5/5

Wonderful stay fabulous hosts met me on arrival and offered me coffee and a muffin just what i needed after the train journey. Very comfortable room with all that i needed inside comfy bed and a lovely breakfast in the morning. Great value for money and well worth a stay if in the area.

Response

Thank you for the great comments Matthew. It was a pleasure meeting you.Look forward to seeing you again next time you are in the area.All the bestLyn

Reviewer:Mathew M | Sat 11th Aug 2018 | 10 months ago


A lovely base for exploring the Lake District - Rating 5/5

Lyn and Liam are the most amazing and attentive hosts;they had coffee and cakes at arrival, were always friendly, remembered how we wanted our breakfasts, were so good with our children, and had a lot of information and tips for our outings. They really above and beyond! Elton house has a homey feel, yet the rooms are spacious and well-kept with all the comforts you could want. Grange-over-sands is a small town with a lovely promenade and nice gardens. It was not crowded with tourists. There is a train station so you can get around even without a car. We will definitely stay here again if we're in the area!

Response

Thank you Hakon, it was lovely to meet your lovely family, and so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and had a great time in the Lakes. We are well positioned to use as a base to visit not only the South Lakes area but the rest of the gorgeous Lake District, and look forward to seeing you on your next visit.Kind regards to Karina, Kristian and Marie. Hope the cushion has pride of place, and reminds you of your stay with usLyn & LiamXx

Reviewer:Hakon O | Sun 29th Jul 2018 | 10 months ago


Race weekend - Rating 5/5

Absolutely fabulous. So friendly. Take the extra mile. Will return. Norman

Response

Thank you for the great review Norman. It was lovely meeting you all on your weekend to Cartmel Races, and very much look forward to seeing you all again soonBest wishesLyn & Liam

Reviewer:Norman E | Mon 23rd Jul 2018 | 11 months ago


A very warm welcome - Rating 5/5

Elton Guest House was perfectly positioned for our recent business trip to the area and we when we arrived we were greeted by Lyn, who made us very welcome.Our twin room was very clean, comfortable, well provisioned and had a great bathroom. We both slept well and thoroughly enjoyed an amazing breakfast in the morning.We'll be back!!

Response

It was great meeting you both Kerrianne and look forward to seeing you again on your next business trip to Grange.All the bestLyn

Reviewer:Kerrianne G | Wed 11th Jul 2018 | 11 months ago


Lovely weekend - Rating 5/5

The Elton Guest House is a first class b and b. We had a lovely large comfortable room and felt very relaxed. Great breakfast each morning and the owners Lyn and Liam work hard to make sure guests enjoy their visit. A very good place to stay.

Response

Thank you for the review Christine. It was a pleasure meeting you both, and pleased we could share your anniversary with you, and make it special.Look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to GrangeX

Reviewer:Christine B | Thu 28th Jun 2018 | 11 months ago


Birthday Treat - Rating 5/5

What a gem this B&B is wonderful location friendly owners who made my birthday overnight stay very special. The room was beautiful clean and beds extremely comfortable. Breakfast was first class. I just can’t fault the place and will be returning

Response

Thank you for the great review.Really pleased we made your overnight birthday treat a bit more special.Look forward to seeing you both again.Best wishesLyn

Reviewer:Kim C | Sat 23rd Jun 2018 | 12 months ago


Our stay at Elton guest house - Rating 5/5

From the moment we arrived till we left, we were made extremely welcome by Lyn and Liam.The guest house has a relaxing atmosphere with every comfort we needed. The rooms are finished to a high standard. The breakfasts are amazing, all freshly cooked and yummy fresh bread for toast. Delightful.Thank you for a wonderful stay. Would recommend it to anyone.

Response

Thank you David for your great comments, and really pleased you enjoyed your couple of days with us, it was great meeting you and Betty. Look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Grange.Best wishesLyn & Liam

Reviewer:Mr David B | Tue 12th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Doesn\'t come any better - Rating 5/5

Liam and Lyn have done everything possible to make this guesthouse a perfect place to stay. We stayed in the top room with an excellent view overlooking the garden and trees. A free parking pass is available to park across the road. We were also directed to some good local pubs/restaurants less than 5 mins drive. Totally recommend it.

Response

Thanks for the great review Keith. Lovely to meet you both. We have worked hard to make the guest house as welcome and relaxing as we can, just like somewhere we would like to stay ourselves, so these great comments are much appreciatedKind regards to you and Eddy, and hope to see you again.Lyn & Liam

Reviewer:Keith F | Tue 12th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Great Weekend - Rating 5/5

Thanks to Lynn &Liam for a great weekend stay which started with a lovely warm welcome.Very comfortable room , great breakfast and a lovely home from home feel.Will definitely recommend and look forward to seeing you again in the New Year. Anne and Paul

Reviewer:ANNE C | Tue 21st Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


Amazing - Rating 5/5

Lovely stay at this b&b the owner are just perfect.

Response

Thank you for the lovely review Clotilde, it was great meeting you both. See you next yearBest wishes and Happy Christmas. xxLyn & Liam

Reviewer:clotilde v | Thu 9th Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


Felt llike I was at my grandmas house from childhood - Rating 5/5

Kind and friendly.Our hosts were so helpful and willing to wait for our kinda late arrival.We kept calling to let them know that we were on our way.We got a great tour of their property and they showed us their plans for remodel and updating.Lovely personal garden in the rear for them, (not for guests) but they didn't mind showing us what they were doing with their recently purchased bed and breakfast (lodge).Would stay they again if I ever went there again.

Response

Thank you Stirling for your kind comments.It was a pleasure meeting you both, and glad you enjoyed the tour of the house. There has been a lot to do, and still a bit more, but is a beautiful house in a lovely location, so well worth it, especially when we get great reviews like this.Look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the UK from Utah.RegardsLyn & Liam

Reviewer:Sterling M | Wed 20th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

Had a one night stay at the elton guest house.. lyn and liam are very warm welcoming people.. relaxed with nothing too much trouble. Parking easy, room spacious and light..good shower and comfy bed.. great breakfast too highly recommended.. first class

Response

Thank you for the lovely comments Lucy. It was great meeting you both and look forward to seeing you again soon.All the bestLyn

Reviewer:Lucy E | Sun 30th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Perfect Lake District Guest House - Rating 5/5

Perfect Lake District Guest House.Great location (particularly for Carmel Races), stylish, spacious rooms, great breakfast (including a sausage for our dog, Ralph!). Lyne and Liam are great hosts and could have not been more helpful, providing good local advice and even booking a table for us at a Delete repeated word pub for supper.

Response

Lovely to meet you all, and really pleased you had a great day at Cartmel races. Look forward to seeing you again, especially pleased that Ralph enjoyed his sausage!Will let you know as soon as we do which celebrity singer/band is coming to the racecourse next year so you can make a weekend of it.Best wishesLyn

Reviewer:mark s | Sat 29th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Wolfman. - Rating 5/5

Brilliant. Lynne and Liam are the perfect hosts. They made us feel welcome as soon as we arrived. A welcome tray of tea and muffins was gratefully received.The room was excellent. The variety that was on offer for breakfast was first class and plentiful. The service was excellent.The Elton was a perfect base in this unspoilt area from which we could visit numerous attractions, including The Predator Experience, and Cartmel Priority to name but two.Grange is a beautiful and peaceful place, and Lynne and Liam, who are genuine lovely people rounded off a perfect break.We would highly recommend The Elton. It is the perfect place to stay.Lynne and Liam, 10 out of 10. Thank you for making us so welcome.Steve and Marlene.

Response

Thanks so much Marlene and Steve for your great comments, it is much appreciated. I don\'t know how we can better that response. Hope to see you again soonKeep in touchBig hug for Wolfman and the lovely MarleneLynx

Reviewer:Marlene H | Fri 21st Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Elton guest house - Rating 5/5

Just spent enjoyable two days here. The room was comfortable and spacious and Lyn and Liam were both very hospitable and went the extra mile.the location was excellent. We would certainly recommend.

Response

Great to meet you and Tom , and so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope all is well with you both and look forward to seeing you again.Best wishesLynx

Reviewer:Sheila C | Wed 19th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Lovely couple of days - Rating 5/5

Spent 2 nights at Elton Guest house and couldn't fault it.Lyn and Liam were the perfect hosts.Very helpful,breakfast was delicious.Lovely place to stay and visit Grange on sands.

Response

Thank you for the review Edward. Really pleased you both enjoyed your stay with us, and your first time in Grange over Sands. Look forward to seeing you again soon.Lyn & Liam

Reviewer:Edward S | Sat 3rd Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Welcome Break - Rating 5/5

The couple who own the guest house were very friendly and gave us good information about the area.We found the place very clean ,the bed was too comfortable we did,nt want to get up. There was a very good selection of food for breakfast,and the full English was cooked to perfection. We would certainly stay there again.

Response

Thank you Peter for your comments.We look forward to to seeing you and Joyce next time.Lyn & Liam

Reviewer:Mr. Peter G | Mon 22nd May 2017 | 2 years ago